County commissioners sworn in

On Monday, Jan. 12, Johnson County had a swearing-in ceremony for incoming Johnson County Board of County Commissioners (BOCC) First District representative Ron Shaffer, AIA. Chief Judge Kevin Moriarty swore in Shaffer along with Chairman Ed Eilert, Fourth District Commissioner Jason Osterhaus and Fifth District Commissioner Michael Ashcraft, all of whom were re-elected in November.

About Chairman Ed Eilert:
Chairman Ed Eilert was re-elected to a second term in November 2014. Prior to serving as Chairman he served as the Fourth District BOCC representative for four years. Chairman Eilert’s career in public service also includes 24 years as the mayor of Overland Park and four years as an Overland Park City Councilman.

About Commissioner Ron Shaffer:
Ron Shaffer served as the mayor of Prairie Village, Kan. from 1999 to 2015. Prior to that, he represented Ward 1 on the Prairie Village City Council from 1989 to 1999. Shaffer is principal of his architectural firm, RLS Architects. In December, the American Institute of Architects Kansas City Chapter named Shaffer “Architect of the Year.”

About Commissioner Jason Osterhaus
Fourth District representative Jason Osterhaus was sworn-in today for a second term. Commissioner Osterhaus has lived in Overland Park for more than a decade and has supported the community through various ministries and non-profit organizations. He served as Vice Chair of the BOCC in 2014 and sits on many boards including the Johnson County Library board. 

About Commissioner Michael Ashcraft
Fifth District Commissioner Michael Ashcraft was sworn-in for a second term today. Commissioner Ashcraft works as a consultant with various organizational management teams applying over 20 years of experience working with state and local governments and private sector companies. His Board and Committee assignments include the Mental Health Governing Board and the Solid Waste Management Committee.

About Johnson County, Kansas
Located in the southwestern quadrant of the Kansas City Metropolitan Region, Johnson County, Kansas is a community of choice with a current population of more than 570,000, making it the most populated of the 105 counties in Kansas, but traditionally having the lowest mill levy in the state. For more information visit the county’s website at

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: