Saturation patrol set for Friday, April 10

The Olathe Police Department will conduct a saturation patrol from 10 p.m. until 2 a.m. on Friday, April 10 as part of the department’s ongoing commitment to the reduction of accidents involving intoxicated drivers.

Additional police officers, funded by grants from the Kansas Department of Transportation (KDOT), will be looking for intoxicated drivers. Through a continued initiative with KDOT, police officers also will be conducting strict enforcement of the seat belt laws as a means of reducing critical injuries caused by motor vehicle accidents.

Jim Smith update

An update on former Olathe High School coach and district administration Jim Smith from his daughter Lauri Orscheln:

Hi Friends. A quick update on Dad. He is still in CCU and fighting like crazy. He was so sick before he went in so it is like he is going straight uphill. They have been able to get him out of bed to sit in a chair so that is great. He may have yanked some various tubes out yesterday and so he’s in a little trouble with his nurses.

Your continued prayers would be greatly appreciated. I read him all your comments and they bring him great joy.

DUI check lane results

Olathe police stopped 138 vehicles resulting in the arrest of two drivers for driving under the influence, made one drug arrest and arrested one person for transporting an open container of alcohol during a DUI check lane on April 3 in the 1100 block of South Ridgeview Road.

The check lane was made possible by grant funding from the Kansas Department of Transportation. Olathe officers were assisted by personnel from the Johnson  County Sheriff’s Office.

The check lane operated from 10 p.m. until 2 a.m.

The Olathe Police Department will continue to operate DUI Check Lanes and saturation patrols throughout the year as part of our ongoing traffic safety program and our affiliation with the Kansas Department of Transportation, Bureau of Traffic Safety.

Johnson County spring 2015 election results

Unofficial results; all precincts reporting.

Johnson County Election Office

%d bloggers like this: