Optimist oratorical winners

Pictured are Olathe Noon Optimist President Kris Kirkes; Second-place Eliza Woodside; First-place Brylee Andersen; and Third-place Drew Langston

The first level of competition on the road to the World Oratorical Championship Contest presented by Optimist International took place at the North Lindenwood Support Center March 22. Winners (boy and girl) receive first-, second-, and third-place medals and a small monetary award from the Olathe Noon Optimists.

First place winners advance to the next level of competition “Zone” competition at 1 p.m. April 2  at the North Lindenwood Support Center.

First-Place – Gold Medals
Brylee Andersen – Olathe East Griffin Minter – Olathe South

Second-Place – Silver Medals

Drew Langston – Olathe East

Sam Day – Olathe East

Third-Place – Bronze Medals

Bethany Bluel – Olathe South

Camden Tews – Olathe East

Other participants:
Olathe East – Connor Young. Tre’Von Kearney, Mychaela Burris, Cindy Zhang, Madelyn Rigdon, Mariah Matson
Olathe South – Ben Heigele, Bethany Bluel, Andrea VandenBark
(students under the age of 18 by Oct. 1, 2018 will be eligible to compete again in the 2018 competition)

Brylee and Griffin will move to the Zone Competition and winners of that competition move forward to Kansas District Competition to be held in Ottawa on April 29th at lunchtime. One boy and one girl will win a $2,500 scholarship, and one of those will be chosen to move to Optimist International Competition in St. Louis at St. Louis University on June 14. The winner of the Regional contest will receive a $5,000 scholarship (there will be 9 regions competing). On the following day, June 15, the winner of the Regional competition will compete in the World Championship and Scholarship awards will be $15,000; $10,000 and $5,000 for 1st through 3rd place winners. Presentations at the World competition will be both live and streamed presentations.

We wish our students the best of luck in advancing through the levels of competition, ultimately, if they were to win at all levels, they could receive up to $22,500 in total scholarship awards.

The Optimist International Oratorical contest began in 1928 and the World Championship was added in 2016 as a major expansion of the program.

We also want to thank the Judges who assisted: Ed Badsky, Jim Bradford, Judy Bradford, Kate Capps, Tom Kearney, and Beverly Wittenborn. Sue Baldridge and Carolyn Holland served as Timekeepers.

Kris Kirkes, President Olathe Noon Ruth Nelson, Oratorical Chair Olathe Noon Optimist Members

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: